Should lanterns shine

20120728163020!Dylan_Thomas_photo(photo credit: Wikipedia)

Should lanterns shine

Should lanterns shine, the holy face,
Caught in an octagon of unaccustomed light,
Would wither up, and any boy of love
Look twice before he fell from grace.
The features in their private dark
Are formed of flesh, but let the false day come
And from her lips the faded pigments fall,
The mummy cloths expose an ancient breast.

I have been told to reason by the heart,
But heart, like head, leads helplessly;
I have been told to reason by the pulse,
And, when it quickens, alter the actions‘ pace
Till field and roof lie level and the same
So fast I move defying time, the quiet gentleman
Whose beard wags in Egyptian wind.

I have heard many years of telling,
And many years should see some change.

The ball I threw while playing in the park
Has not yet reached the ground.

***

When I woke

When I woke, the town spoke.
Birds and clocks and cross bells
Dinned aside the coiling crowd,
The reptile profligates in a flame,
Spoilers and pokers of sleep,
The next-door sea dispelled
Frogs and satans and woman-luck,
While a man outside with a billhook,
Up to his head in his blood,
Cutting the morning off,
The warm-veined double of Time
And his scarving beard from a book,
Slashed down the last snake as though
It were a wand or subtle bough,
Its tongue peeled in the wrap of a leaf.

Every morning I make,
God in bed, good and bad,
After a water-face walk,
The death-stagged scatter-breath
Mammoth and sparrowfall
Everybody’s earth.
Where birds ride like leaves and boats like ducks
I heard, this morning, waking,
Crossly out of the town noises
A voice in the erected air,
No prophet-progeny of mine,
Cry my sea town was breaking.
No Time, spoke the clocks, no God, rang the bells,
I drew the white sheet over the islands
And the coins on my eyelids sang like shells.

***

And death shall have no dominion

And death shall have no dominion.
Dead man naked they shall be one
With the man in the wind and the west moon;
When their bones are picked clean and the clean bones gone,
They shall have stars at elbow and foot;
Though they go mad they shall be sane,
Though they sink through the sea they shall rise again;
Though lovers be lost love shall not;
And death shall have no dominion.

And death shall have no dominion.
Under the windings of the sea
They lying long shall not die windily;
Twisting on racks when sinews give way,
Strapped to a wheel, yet they shall not break;
Faith in their hands shall snap in two,
And the unicorn evils run them through;
Split all ends up they shan’t crack;
And death shall have no dominion.

And death shall have no dominion.
No more may gulls cry at their ears
Or waves break loud on the seashores;
Where blew a flower may a flower no more
Lift its head to the blows of the rain;
Though they be mad and dead as nails,
Heads of the characters hammer through daisies;
Break in the sun till the sun breaks down,
And death shall have no dominion.

Dem großen walisischen Dichter Dylan Thomas zum hundertsten Geburtstag.

9 Kommentare zu “Should lanterns shine

  1. Wundervoll, was für eine Sprache. Musik. In meinen Ohren.

    ***

    Genug des Lobes, du willst ja mehr Kritik, wie ich lese, und dem Wunsche komme ich dann mal nach. Hihi. Ein wenig kritteln:

    Bei dem Verlinkten habe ich mich nachgerade erschrocken; die Stimme,die Art des Vortrags… so gar nicht meins. Gehört, Kopf geschüttelt (ob man das Kurzzeitgedächtnis so wirklich geleert bekommt?) und einfach mal auf Modus ‚Kopfkino‘ geschaltet: alles gleich nochmal gelesen, vorgelesen von einer Stimme die nicht die meine war, und vor allem nicht die aus dem Video. Genossen, heimlich ‚Hach!‘ geseufzt.

    ***

    Danke für die Darreichung! :-)

    Gefällt mir

    • Unbedingt kritteln! Das ist erfrischend, insbesondere, wenn die Vortragenden sich wie zivilisierte Menschen benehmen, und das tust Du (wie stets).

      Den Hinweis auf den Link bei Youtube gab mir gestern der Nordwind, wissend, dass ich Thomas, und besonders dieses Gedicht gerne mag.
      Ich hörte es, und es ging mir zunächst ähnlich wie Dir.
      Ich hätte nicht nur eine andere Stimme, sondern auch eine ganz andere Art des Vortrages erwartet, in der die Zeilen „And death shall have no dominion“, am Ende jedes Verses im Tone einer Conclusio gesprochen würden.
      Wenn man aber weiß, das Thomas bereits als Kind Shakespeare las und ihn verehrte, dann versteht man eher, diesen beinahe singenden Royal Shakespeare Stil.

      Mir selbst gefiele ein ruhiger Vortrag, etwa so wie ein spanisches Gebet, besser.
      Er schrieb so kraftvoll und in einem wunderbaren Rhythmus.
      Ach.

      Gefällt mir

      • Ich glaube ich weiß was du meinst.

        Den Kontext zu kennen ist in mancherlei Hinsicht hilfreich, in anderer verbaut er mglw. den (eigenen) Zugang. Zudem ist jeder Vortrag immer auch Interpretation und da fließt einiges an Verstand und Herz des Interpreten mit ein. Und da ist jeder halt ein wenig anders drauf. Nun ja.

        Ein ruhigerer Vortrag, gar etwas spanischer? Happy coincidence, in meinem ‚Kopfkino‘ sprach Borges* (z.B. wie bei Nr. 31, El mar). Ruhig, fast zerbrechlich und doch kraftvoll, leidenschaftlich.

        Ach. Ja…

        ***

        * weiter unten auf der von mir verlinkten Seite gibt es eine Vortragreihe von ihm – das Audio ist leider nicht von bester Qualität, aber dem Manne zuzuhören trotzdem ein Genuß.

        Gefällt mir

        • Happy coincidence- wohl wahr!
          Borges passt sehr gut.
          So würde ich Thomas auch gerne vorgetragen bekommen.
          Herzlichen Dank für den Link, ein Genuss!

          Hab mir noch weitere Gedichte angehört. Sein Art des Vortrages gefällt mir. Borges Gedichte stehen seit Jahren unberührt in meinem Regal. Zeit sie wieder hervor zu holen.

          Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

